What's new
About us
ICO 2013



About the Orthopterists' Society

The Orthopterists' Society (formerly the Pan American Acridological Society) is an international scientific organization devoted to facilitating communication among those interested in Orthoptera and related organisms, and to encourage collaborative research and control programs in Orthopterology among countries of the World. The Society currently has 470 members from 60 countries on six continents. We foster research and publication in all aspects of Orthopterology. The Society publishes the peer-reviewed Journal of Orthoptera Research which appears twice a year and the Newsletter, Metaleptea which appears three times a year. Graduate students and young researchers can apply for the Orthopterists' Society Research Fund. The Society cooperates with the taxonomic database of the world's Orthoptera, Orthoptera Species File online.

The Society was founded in 1976 by some 35 orthopterists who met at San Martín de los Andes, Argentina. It’s Constitution and Bylaws were adopted in 1977, and it was accorded tax-exempt status by the United States government in 1978. The meetings held since San Martin de los Andes every three/four years have been at Bozeman (USA), Maracay (Venezuela), Saskatoon (Canada), Valsaín (Spain), Hilo (USA), Cairns (Australia), Montpellier (France), Canmore (Canada), Antalya (Turkey) and during the current year in Kunming (China). A complete list of meetings and presidents of the Orthopterists' Society can be seen here.

The most recent recent meeting was held in Kunming, China in August 2013. In addition to the quadrennial international meetings, the Society has hosted an annual symposium at the annual Entomological Society of America meetings since 1987, and also has sponsored or supported several international  (FAO workshop on “The future of biopesticides in Desert Locust management”,  Senegal  2007) and national meetings on Orthopterology (Brazilian Symposia on Orthoptera, Brazil 2006, 2008).

The complete Constitution and By-Laws of the Orthopterists' Society (as revised November 20, 2005) can be downloaded here (in PDF format.)

Society's Officers

President: Michael Samways, Department of Conservation Ecology & Entomology Faculty of Agrisciences Stellenbosch University, Private Bag XI Matieland 7602 Stellenbosch, South Africa

President-elect: Alexandre Latchininsky, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management, University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY, USA.

Executive Director: David Hunter, Locust and Grasshopper Control, 125 William Webb Drive, McKellar ACT 2617 Australia

Treasurer: Pamm Mihm, 2417 Fields South Drive, Champaign, IL 61822, USA

JOR Managing Editor: Corinna S. Bazelet, Stellenbosch University, Department of Conservation Ecology and Entomology, South Africa

Editorial Assistant JOR: Nancy Morris, Department of Biology, University of Toronto at Mississauga, Mississauga, ON, Canada

Manager Orthopterists' Society Website: Piotr Naskrecki, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, 26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA, 02138 USA

Associate Manager OS Website: David C.F. Rentz, 19 Butler Dr. Kuranda, Queensland, Australia

Editor Metaleptea: Hojun Song, Department of Biology, University of Central Florida, 4000 Central Florida Blvd., Orlando, FL 32816 USA

Associate Editor Metaleptea: Derek A. Woller, Department of Biology, University of Central Florida, 4000 Central Florida Blvd. Orlando, FL 32816-2368

Orthoptera Species File Officer: Maria-Marta Cigliano, División Entomología, Museo de La Plata, Universidad Nacional  de la Plata, Paseo del Bosque S/N, 1900 La Plata, Argentina

The Ted Cohn Research Fund Manager: Michel Lecoq,  CIRAD, France

Regional representatives:

Rohini Balakrishnan (South Asia)

Marcos Lhano (South and Central America)

Dave Hunter (Australia, New Zealand and Pacific islands)

Dan Johnson (North America)

M.A. Ould Babah (North and Sahelian Africa)

Corinna Bazelet (Sub-Saharan Africa)

Michael Sergeev (East Europe – North and Central Asia)

Battal Çiplak (Middle East - Caucasus)

Seiji Tanaka (Japan)

Fernando Montealegre (West Europe)

Zhang Long (China, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan)

Download a PDF brochure about the Orthopterists' Society

Contact us